Q&A in Unlimited magazine

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Michael Smythe 6 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Michael Smythe
    Participant

Q&A for Unlimited magazine: October – November 2011, pp.85-85 – the unexpurgated version.

By design – Michael Smythe’s book puts ‘number 8’ thinking and Kiwiana in their place.

What prompted you to write this book?

The short answer can be summed up with a quote from Thomas Berger: “Why do writers write? Because it isn’t there.”  (Was he paraphrasing our Sir Ed?)

As a freelance design writer I realised I had begun documenting history in the form of obituaries – not the best approach. Then after gaining my Master of Design Management, which equipped me to strategise our design-driven future, I was invited to turn 180 degrees and look backward – I was asked to teach design history to Bachelor of Product Design students. The much needed reference book was conspicuous by its absence.

A more complex conspiracy theory can be found in the book’s Back Story.

Which characteristics hallmark Kiwi design?

I prefer not to deliver my punch line in this interview. I would rather readers followed my exploration of this question throughout the book and position their own views alongside the conclusion I offer in the Epilogue. What I will say here is that it’s about character rather than form and I can see a personality which seems common to the cultures for whom New Zealand is home. And I reckon we should exptrapol8, not annihil8, number 8 thinking.

How has our isolation influenced the products we’ve designed?